top of page

Don't let Spring Allergies kick your a%*!

If yo

u’re anything like me and find it hard to workout with seasonal allergies, this is the post for you. Waking up with crusty eyes, itchy throat, and stuffy nose makes working out seem that much harder…well it does for me anyways. No I can’t say I want to go workout when I feel like I’m constantly getting my ass kicked by my outrageous sprees of sneezing. But ultimately I know that I have to, and I’ve done some research on what do to so I can fight back.

Here are a few of my tips that I’ve found useful:

1. Check the pollen count

This is something I defiantly need to take more advantage of and didn’t know where to look when doing so. Since I’m allergic to tree pollen but also enjoy going for the occasional run, it’s nice to see what you’re getting yourself into. Download The Weather Channel App! It’s a great way to find all your weather information along with the pollen index for your current location.

2. Find alternative workouts

If the pollen count is high make modifications. CNN reported that 40% of people with spring allergies also suffer from asthma. Since spring allergies trigger asthma it might not be a great idea to risk going for a run outside (unless you’re feeling ballsy). They suggest swimming as an alternative workout, which, is a great full body exercise. Yoga & lifting weights are also good alternatives that don’t require heavy breathing.

3. Eat Greek Yogurts

Fitness Magazine suggests a natural substitute for those who don't want to consume themselves with all the allergy medications that are available on the market. They quote senior researcher, Kamal Ivory Ph. D, from the Institute of Food and Research in the United Kingdom who says, "

"Probiotics help balance the bacteria in your digestive system and may prevent the immune system from overreacting to pollen and other allergens."

For more info on that article check out it out here.

There are more suggestions out there, but here are a few that I haven’t heard of or have tried before. Hopefully these are new to you too and you can being to punch back at pollen!


RECENT POSTS:
  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round
  • LinkedIn Black Round

© 2015 by Deme Morales. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page